#thanksmatt

The hashtag started (to me at least) as somewhat of a joke.

A way to (slightly) sarcastically thank Matt (Mullenweg) for paying for our Grand Meetup.

For context: The Automattic Grand Meetup happens every year, somewhere in the world, and is a time where the entire company gets together to meet new people, reconnect with old friends, work on projecets, take classes, and just have fun hanging out with the people we have been chatting with on Slack and P2s.

So back to the hashtag: It was humorous a bit, since it humanized the company paying for our awesome meetup. We took over Whistler this year, and as the name suggests, the Grand Meetup was very grand.

All our needs, and basically all our wants, were attended to promptly, due to amazing planning from Rose and company. I could not think of one thing that I wanted to make the week amazing.

That got me thinking after I left Whistler. My wife and I often joke that I had better not get fired from Automattic, since it’s my dream job. There are many reasons why that is so, but I will try to get through just a few.

  •  The people. I could ramble on and on about the people that I work with. Let it suffice to say that they are people that I would really honestly love to hang out with even if I wasn’t “forced” to for work. I have never met a crazier group of nerds (said in all love, coming from a crazy nerd), but they are *my people*.
  • The perks. I can try to list them here, but you should just go look at some of them on our hiring page. (Oh, and go apply, so you can experience this first-hand).
  • The ability to expense stuff that makes my job/life easier is something that is amazing. If I want to take a class that helps my knowledge, I can expense it. If I am travelling for work, and get stranded somewhere, I can expense a hotel with no questions asked. That brings me to the next point…
  • Trust is implicit once you are hired. People just trust each other to be honest, to have their best interest at heart, to give each other the benefit of the doubt, to not be stupid with company money, etc.
  • The leadership team is really open with how things work. This is evident in P2s (I can follow along on basically how the company money is spent, and I can see all the budgets for everything across the company), and evident in Townhalls where Matt and team will take hours of their time to answer anything we ask. (Literally anything).

I could ramble on and on, but I wanted to take the time to get my thoughts out.

I know this is not something that Matt has done all by himself, but I would love to recognize the person that made this possible.

So, in as heartfelt a way as possible, #thanksmatt.

2 thoughts on “#thanksmatt

Leave a Reply

